Our Staff & Board

Executive Director

James Sutton, Society Executive DirectorJames Sutton, PA-C, DFAAPA
Executive Director
Society of Refugee Healthcare Providers
Chair, North American Refugee Health Conference (United States)
Rochester, NY




Sarah Clarke, Society CoordinatorSarah K. Clarke, MSPH
Coordinator, Society of Refugee Healthcare Providers
Technical Advisor – Health Promotion, International Rescue Committee
Program manager, Refugee Health YYC, Cumming School of Medicine
Houston, TX




Board Executive Committee

Anna Banerji, Society Board PresidentChair

Anna Banerji  O.Ont., MD, MPH, FRCPC, DTM&H
Faculty Lead, Indigenous and Refugee Health,
Post MD Education, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto
Associate Professor Pediatrics and Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Chair, North American Refugee Health Conference (Canadian)


zaaeed_najah_20190911_0002cweb_0-1Vice Chair

Najah Zaaeed, DrPH, MSW, MPA
Adjunct Professor
Department of Public Health
Syracuse University
Syracuse, NY



Michael Aucoin, MD, CCFP, DTMH
Clinical Lecturer, University of Calgary, Department of Family Medicine
Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University, Department of Family Medicine
Family Physician, Clinical Operations Lead, Mosaic Refugee Health Clinic
Calgary, AB



Board Members

Ani Annamalai, Society Board memberAni Annamalai, MD
Associate Professor
Departments of Psychiatry and Internal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine
Director, Yale Refugee Clinic
Newhaven, CT


Brian Gushulak, Society Board memberBrian Gushulak, MD
Migration Health Consultants, Inc.
Qualicum Beach, BC




Gayathri Suresh Kumar, Society Board memberGayathri S. Kumar, MD, CPH
Medical Officer
Atlanta, GA




Fatima Karaki, Society Board memberFatima M. Karaki, MD
Founding Director, Refugee and Asylum seeker Health Initiative (RAHI)
Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, California



Hassan VatanparastHassan Vatanparast, MD, PhD
Professor, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
School of Public Health
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK



young-janine_003-EditJanine Young, MD, FAAP
Medical Director, Denver Health Refugee Clinic
Co-Medical Director of the Human Rights Clinic at Denver Health
Medical Advisor for the State of Colorado Refugee Services Program
General Pediatrician, Denver Health and Hospitals
Associate Professor, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Department of General Pediatrics
Executive Committee of the AAP’s Council of Immigrant Child and Family Health
Denver, CO


Julia Condrea BSW, MSW, RSW
Registered Social Worker
Mosaic Sunridge Community Clinic, Mosaic Refugee Health Clinic, Children’s Health Clinic
Mosaic Primary Care Network
Calgary, AB


Katherine McKenzie, Society Board memberKatherine C. McKenzie, MD, FACP
Director, Yale Center for Asylum Medicine
Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT


Mahli-Brindamour, Society Board memberMahli Brindamour, MD, FRCPC
General Pediatrician
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK




Paul Geltman, Society Board memberPaul L. Geltman, MD, MPH
Medical Director for Refugee and Immigrant Health,
Division of Global Populations and Infectious Disease Prevention,
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Chief Medical Officer, Upham’s Corner Health Center, Dorchester, MA
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Health Policy and Health Services Research,
Boston University School of Medicine and Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine, Boston, MA

Peter Cronkright, Society Board memberPeter J. Cronkright, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
Clinical Associate Professor of Family Medicine
SUNY Upstate Medical University
Syracuse, NY